A Shocking Scramble…

Posted: September 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

-Aikido’s classic intention is to subdue an opponent without actually hurting him-

ImageI’ve received over 100 messages and phone calls asking about a video that has recently gone viral, which saw me subduing and pinning an assailant to the ground. The story of this was a bit too long for me to address everyone with a response, and it was an incident that made me thank God again for my 7 years of training in Traditional Martial Arts and multiple black belts which document my experience, but ultimately cover your ass only inside of the Dojo. My experience yesterday was one that many people I’m sure have faced, with much more gruesome results on both sides…Here is what happened (which reflects the Police report as well, which was uncontested by the assailant at the station).

ImageAt around 3:30 in the Afternoon, coming up to the Maraval KFC roundabout on Saddle Road, a car was trying to edge into my lane aggressively in bumper to bumper traffic. I kept to my lane and continued driving. I thought I felt a slight touch on my tyre (at least it felt that way, although upon police inspection later nothing was found on either vehicle to indicate this). Continuing to roll for a second or two until the traffic stopped, I head a loud bang of a car door slamming, then another of the attacker hitting the back of my tray with his hand (hand print was shown at the station when he tried to lie about hitting it). As I looked back and opened my car door, he ran up and with momentum swing a cuff directly to my face while I was still buckled up inside of the vehicle, and at the same speed drew back and swung another which I raised my arm to block, grabbed his jersey with the other hand, and he stepped back pulling the baton and causing his shirt to rip, which then he proceeded to take it off. Unbuckling and pulling up the hand brake, I exited the car, and was rushed with the attacker aiming the baton at my head for a blow, which I stepped aside and deflected the blow, telling him to put it down and calm down after. More infuriated I was attacked again, this time grabbing him, but tripped on something while trying to hold on. He proceeded to raise his foot and stamp down on my chest, then raising it as high as he could and stamped down aiming at my head. I arched my back, and grabbed his foot as it made contact with my face and took him to the ground with a sweep to the opposite leg. Then got to his back on the ground and locked my legs around his waist to control his body and his arms (baton still in his hand) over his head, and shouted for someone to call for the police. 2 school boys ran up to pull me off of them and I yelled at them to move, as all they would have done is allow him to get back up and attack again. The attacker eventually rolled and got up on all fours, proceeding to lift me off the ground while on his back, to which I used my ankle to turn his knee outwards and bring him back down, this time holding his fist with the weapon to the ground and dragging it across the road to make him let go and take the weapon. He turned over and I assumed the mounted position seen in the video in which I kept him pinned down.



ImageHis eyes at this point had tears of rage and he was trying to punch me, claw at my stomach, and chock me, but to no avail. I kept telling him as I held the baton and my fist over his head many time “I don’t want to hit you! Calm Down!” I even tried to calm him by asking him if he wanted money and I’d give it to him, he just needs to calm down. He kept cussing me and telling me to get off he was calm, meanwhile he was using this as a chance to quickly try to grab the baton out of my hand. People around were egging me on to hit him, and others taunting him to his embarrassment. This whole ordeal must have gone on for about 4 or 5 minutes, which is a damn long time in a “fight.” The police came, and did their job to a T. They handcuffed him before I got off of him, searched him and his vehicle while I went for my ID. Up to this point I still have not hit him once, and other than the lip burst on the inside, just
grazes to my feet and hands from restraining him on the asphalt. Since I never hit him, it is a clear Assault and Battery charge (as well as criminal damage for the hit to the vehicle), which the Police are awaiting a medical report to send a court order for him. He revealed to me afterwards in pleading for me not to take it further that he already is in court, and had a couple of drinks in his head. One of my question to him that he couldn’t answer at the station was “If I hadn’t been able to protect myself, you would have just brutalized me in the car continuously?”…

I
Imagen this experience I’ve learned something about the Martial Artist and Person I’ve become from where I was. A few years ago, I would have hit him hard and fast from the get go, or maybe even tossed him and chocked him out and ended the situation right there. My lawyer said to me that day “I’m so glad I’m getting this call from you saying your okay and have charges to press, It could have a call saying that you were dead or on a charge for Manslaughter.” In the end, even though some people think that I should have hit him and taught him a lesson, I think I did my dojo, my students, and myself proud by choosing to not cross the line that I had set for myself based on the philosophy I have adopted, to avoid damaging another human being, whenever possible to do so. A final message to anyone readying; Avoid danger whenever possible, and be prepared to defend yourself when danger comes to you.

Thanking all support and concern from Loved ones and Stranger alike,

Paul-Daniel Nahous
Head Instructor
Senshiken Karate.
https://www.facebook.com/SenshikenKarate
http://www.youtube.com/senshikenkarate

Comments
  1. Shaun O'Reilly says:

    Well done Paul, I’m glad it worked out like this.. May God continue to bless and protect you.

  2. Anonymous says:

    well done bro i’m proud of you. You really have grown over the years.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Paul I must commend you on your courage and bravery, had it been someone else in your shoes, they would have been dead for sure….Most important you are safe…I think I need to take some classes in Martial Arts.

  4. nadira says:

    WOW! good for you that you were able to not just defend yourself and live but you were able to keep your cool, there are not a lot of people that would have been able to keep their cool and not beat the shit out of him. Good for you, you may have taught him 2 lessens, not to succumb to road rage and do not underestimate the man in the next car. I do hope you press charges though, as it will seal the deal that you are not taking his fit of stupidity and that he should think before he acts like an arss. Stay safe and good luck.

  5. Barbara Lake says:

    Well done! Is that why from my office, I saw several police vehicles heading in that direction with sirens blaring?

  6. Lisa says:

    Paul. Thanks to you for allowing yr attacker to understand the meaning of the goodness in human kind which refers to you. You have said it right. You teach him a lesson and also to many others who looked at the video . Thank you again for the discipline you display. Sending you divine blessing to yr beautiful heart with a smile. :)))))

  7. You good yes. You displayed a lot of control. Not sure I could have done that. I am not much of a take down and wrestle type. Good for you.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Well done Paul !!! There is too much violence in society already….you chose the calmer, saner path to walk on. Always remember the greatest people we look up to in society were pacifists:Martin Luther King, Gandhi and Nelson Mandela…

  9. Anonymous says:

    We need more role models like you. I am sure you made a lasting impression on those 2 young men. God bless!

  10. Renee says:

    Thank for sharing this Paul. Your behaviour is admirable and to be emulated. Your story has been one of the topics for family discussion with our children 12, 8 and 6.

    I am sorry that you had to undergo this but maybe your story needs to be heard by many of us who have road rage. You showed goodness and mercy in a very difficult and scary moment. (even though many of us think this character deserved a sound cut tail)

    I am glad that all is well with you and we wish you all of God’s continued blessings

  11. Rachel says:

    The main and most important thing is that you are safe and relatively unharmed. It’s a good thing you chose to do the right thing and show everyone else that violence is not the answer. I hope the other guy learns a lesson from this whole incident. Kudos to you Paul and stay well.

  12. Anonymous says:

    Dear Paul, firstly congratulations in all aspects of dealing with the situation and most importantly coming out of it relatively unscathed. Your family must be very proud of you.

    I do however urge you to go against your obvious kind heart and prosecute this man to the full extent of the law. 99.9% of the population can not do what you did. If that had been my wife or even I someone could have died. You yourself saw it in this man’s eyes. He will hurt someone unless stopped and probably over something as stupid as not letting him cut in line.

  13. Your calm and discipline is commendable. Bravo! I witnessed a similar situation about 45 years ago in Marabella, South Trinidad, when my dad challenged an aggressor twice his size after the latter purposely rammed his car in traffic. My dad, unlike you, is no martial artist, but luckily his audacity caused his aggressor to finally back off. What shocked me then and also in your story is the reaction of the bystanders egging on the violence instead of trying to calm the situation. I often wondered what could have happened then if the violence had indeed escalated. Keep on sharing your philosophy of nonviolence so that peace becomes a reality in our world. Namasté.

  14. Bruce says:

    well done, its about time someone can stand up to that attitude and carelessness of these people, lawd help the rest of us.

  15. njohn says:

    I proud of you and commend your bravery and wisdom to act at this dangers attack,I pray to the LORD to protect you with his blessings

  16. Bret says:

    Good stuff Paul.

  17. David says:

    Well done, you are a true martial arts master. Your humility and compassion demonstrates what the art form is really about. Your students are in good hands.

Comment on this Post

